[My Essay]

The three-body problem

Jim Shao


The phrase "Three-body" has recently gone viral in China due to the release of related novels and film/TV shows. Indeed, the three-body problem in physics is easy to let people indulge in reverie or fall into daydream because of the chaotic nature of its solution.

In 2006, out of curiosity, I studied David Acheson's book "From Calculus to Chaos"[1], which among other topics discussed the gravitational motion of three bodies in a two-dimensional plane space.

My notes are now organized as follows.

We know that if only two bodies exist, as long as the initial conditions are given, according to Newton's law, the motion trajectory and speed of the two bodies can be accurately solved.

However, in the three-body case, as shown in Figure 1, each particle is affected by the gravitational force of the other two particles. According to Newton's second law, of course, it is possible to write six second-order differential equations for motions of each particle in the X and Y directions, but these equations are coupled to each other and have no analytical solution.

Figure 1

The usual method for solution is to recast it to twelve first-order differential equations, after non-dimensionalization and then calculate it by a numerical approach, such as using the Runge-Kutta method with variable step size, in order to approximately find the instantaneous coordinates and velocity of each particle.

Figure 2a shows that if there is no third particle, when the masses of particles m1 and m2 are the same, equal to 0.5, the initial positions are at (0, -0.3) and (0, 0.3) points equidistant on both sides of the X-axis respectively, when the initial velocities are equal, one goes south and the other goes north, that is, (0, -0.3) and (0, 0.3), the two particles will each make a stable elliptical motion around the center of gravity of the system. This is the case with the double star phenomenon observed in the universe.

But when a third particle intervenes, the trajectory of each particle becomes extremely complicated.

For example, m3 with the same mass enters towards south from the position of (-0.1, 0.75) with an initial velocity of (0, -0.3). As shown in Figure 2b, c, and d, particle 1 and particle 3 are quickly approaching each other and move northwest together, while particle 2 is repelled to the southeast. Soon, particle 2 returned back, entangles with particle 3, and kicks particle 1 out.

Figure 2

This mutual entanglement and constantly changing "partner" relationship can be seen more clearly in Figure 3 below. At this time, other conditions of the system are the same as Figure 2, except that the initial velocity of m3 is changed to (0, -0.2).

Figure 3

This figure shows that particle 3 and entangled particles 1 and 2 may eventually meet again. What will be happened after that?

The author followed the computer program provided in Acheson's book to further calculate the problem, and then filmed the entire process. Later, with the advice and help of a friend, I switched to screen recording technology to obtain a clearer video. Interested readers can click here: Video Link: 3-body in Motion, or http://www.azcolabs.com/3BD.mp4 to watch the video link in MP4 mode. If readers are unable to watch MP4 mode, they can try clicking the video link on the original video in AVI mode: Video Link, or http://www.azcolabs.com/3BD.avi. The short film is about three minutes long, but you may press the fast forward button in the playback software or select the playback speed to speed up the playback.

At the end of the video, it is shown that after particle 3 (black) and particle 1 and 2 (red and green) meet, they exchange places again. Finally, particle 2 and 3 (green and black) go together, all the way to the west, and particle 1 (red) then threw himself eastward and moved alone. The two groups went in opposite directions and drifted apart further and further, reaching the ending fate of three-body, decay or deconstruction and collapse.

Some readers may ask how come we haven¡¯t seen such weird behavior in the multi-body world we live in? Haven't the nine planets in the solar system been operating in an orderly manner for many years, safe and sound? Moreover, its trajectory can be predicted. People know exactly when the lunar and solar eclipses will occur, and they can also calculate the return date of Halley's Comet.

My understanding is: the three-body chaos phenomenon we are talking about here will occur, the key is that the interaction between the three bodies is of equal magnitude and affects each other, forming a strong coupling state, so that their movements are completely unpredictable.

However, if only one object has an absolute advantage in a system, such as the mass of the sun accounting for 99.86% in the solar system, many other small objects, such as planets and their satellites, will make a stable two-body motion around it. The attraction effects between these small bodies are high-order minor terms due to their small masses and long distances, and can be ignored.

At this time, if a smaller object breaks into the space between the two bodies under certain initial conditions, what will be the result?

The following four pictures illustrate this.

All the initial conditions are the same as in the Figure 2, and the third body mass m ¡Ö 0.

In the first case, as shown in Figure 4, the third body starts from a distant position (0, 10) with an initial velocity (0, -0.3), and is accelerated downward by the attraction of the two bodies. If the acceleration time is long enough for the third body to gain enough kinetic energy, or the other two bodies are at near the far end when it cuts in, it is possible for it to directly pass through the two-body system.

Figure 4

In the second case, as shown in Figure 5, the third body starts from the nearby position (0, 1) and also starts at the initial velocity (0, -0.3). Due to the short acceleration time by the attraction of the two bodies, the speed of the third body is insuffieient, and it happened to be close to the second body. As a result, it was captured by the second body and became a satellite orbiting it. However, after a considerable amount of time, the third body was freed again and flew toward the southwest.

Figure 5

In the third case, as shown in Figure 6, the third body starts from a slightly farther position (0, 3) with the same initial velocity (0, -0.3). Due to the attraction of the two bodies, the acceleration time is slightly longer, and the third body's speed is moderate, so it was neither captured nor able to cross directly. As a result, after chaotic wandering in the potential well of the two bodies, it was finally able to escape towards about 60 degrees to the northeast.

Figure 6

In the fourth case, as shown in Figure 7, the third body starts from the (-0.1, 0.75) position deviated from the Y-axis and also starts at the initial velocity (0, -0.3). The results are similar to the above. Only this time, it was not lucky enough to escape, but directly hit the second body. The figure shows that the position where the two particles collide is at the point of (318, 120) on the screen.

Figure 7

From the numerous craters on the moon and the common meteors seen at night on Earth, we know that such collisions are not uncommon.

The solar system has existed for billions of years, and most of the celestial bodies that should be collided or escaped have probably been eliminated. What is left now can be said to be a basically stable structure. But the laws of chaos caused by multi-body coupling still exist. From a large-scale perspective, everything may still change, including the moon quietly moving away from the earth by more than an inch every year, and countless asteroids and debris still flying around in the solar system at any time, threatening the existence of life on earth.

The above are just some numerical simulations, trying to vividly illustrate some basic concepts about three-body chaotic motion and possible situations.

The vast universe is a unity of cosmos and chaos. However, in any case, three celestial bodies with similar masses are extremely unstable, and should not be suitable for the long process of the origin and evolution of life, not to mention the creation of advanced intelligent creatures.


[1], David Acheson, "From Calculus to Chaos", Oxford, (1997).

Written on April 28, 2024.


Relevant Reading£º

Jim Shao£º"Entropy and State" (October 17, 2023)

Jim Shao£º"Langton's Ants" (August, 2017)


(RETURN)

[自留习作园地]

三 体 问 题

小 鹰


由于相关的小说和影视作品上市,最近“三体”这个词儿在中国火了。的确,物理学的三体问题,因其解的混沌性质,容易令人遐想,或墬入迷思。

2006年,出于好奇,我曾研读了大卫·艾奇逊的《从微积分到混沌》[1]一书,其中在二维平面空间中,讨论了三体的引力运动问题。

现将笔记整理如下。

我们知道,如果只有二体存在,只要给出初始条件,根据牛顿定律,即可以精确解出二体的运动轨迹和速度。

然而,在三体情形下,如图一所示,每个粒子受到其它二粒子的引力作用,根据牛顿第二定律,固然也可以写出各粒子在X和Y方向上的六个二阶运动方程,但这些方程式彼此耦合,没有解析解。

图一

通常的求解办法是:将其降阶为十二个一阶微分方程,经去量纲化(non-dimensionalization)後,用可变步长的数字叠代法(the Runge-Kutta method)计算,近似求出每个粒子瞬时的坐标和速度。

图二a显示,如果没有第三粒子存在,当粒子m1和m2的质量相同,等于0.5,初始位置分别在X轴的两侧等距之(0,-0.3)和(0,0.3)点处,初速度大小相等,一个向南,一个向北,即为(0,-0.3)和(0,0.3)时,两个粒子将各自绕系统重心做稳定的椭圆运动。宇宙中观察到的双星现象,即是如此。

但当有第三粒子介入时,每个粒子的轨迹会变得极为复杂。

例如,具有同样质量的m3,从(-0.1,0.75)的位置,以(0,-0.3)的初速度向南进入,如图二b、c、d所示,粒子1与粒子3很快接近,一起向西北方向行,粒子2则被排斥到东南方。不久,粒子2又转回来,与粒子3缠绕,把粒子1踢了出去。

图二

这种相互纠缠,不断变换“伙伴”的关系,在下面的图三中可以看得更清楚,此时系统其它条件与图二相同,只是m3的初速改为(0,-0.2)。

图三

该图显示,粒子3与彼此纠缠的粒子1和2最後可能再次相遇,那之後的结果又会是怎样?

笔者按照Acheson书中提供的程序,进一步演算,并将全过程拍成影片,後经友人建议和帮助,又改用录屏技术,获得更清晰的视频。有兴趣的读者可以点击这里观看:MP4模式的视频链接:三体动态图。如有读者无法观看MP4模式,可试点击AVI模式的原摄影片视频链接。该短片长约三分钟,但可按播放软件中的快进键或选择播放速度,加快播放。

影片结尾时显示,粒子3(黑)与粒子1/2(红与绿)相会之後,再次交换位置,最终,粒子2/3(绿与黑)结伴,一路向西,粒子1(红)则独自投东,踽踽而行。二者背道而驰,渐行渐远,达到了三体衰变(decay)或解构崩溃的结局。

有些读者可能会问,在我们生活的多体大千世界,怎麽没有见过如此诡异的行径?太阳系的九大行星不是秩序井然地运行多年,安然无恙麽?而且轨迹可以预测,人们准确知道月蚀、日蚀会在什麽时候发生,也可推算出哈雷彗星回归的日子。

我的理解是:我们这里说的三体混沌现象会发生,关键在于三体间的相互作用量级相当,彼此影响,形成强耦合状态,以致其运动完全无法预测。

但是,如果一个体系,只有一个物体占绝对优势,如太阳系中太阳的质量占99.86%,其余众多小物体,如诸行星及其卫星,则共同围绕它做稳定的二体运动,行星彼此间的吸引,由于质量小且相距较远,属于高阶小项,可以忽略不计。

此时,若有更小的物体,以一定的初始条件,闯入二体之间,结果会怎么样?

以下四张图片,对此做了说明。

初始条件与图二相同,第三体质量m ≈ 0。

第一种情形,如图四显示,第三体从远处(0,10)的位置,以初速(0,-0.3)出发,受二体的吸引加速向下。如果加速时间够长,使第三体获得足够的动能,或当切入时另二体恰在远端附近,那它就有可能直接穿越二体体系。

图四

第二种情形,如图五显示,第三体从近处(0,1)的位置,同样以初速(0,-0.3)出发,因受二体吸引加速时间较短,第三体速度不够高,且刚好与第二体接近,结果被第二体俘获,成为绕其旋转的卫星。然而,经过相当的时间之後,第三体又解脱出来,向西南方向飞去。

图五

第三种情形,如图六显示,第三体从稍远的(0,3)位置,同样以初速(0,-0.3)出发,因受二体吸引加速时间略长,第三体速度居中,它既不被俘获,又无力直接穿越,结果在二体的势井中,混沌漫游一番之後,终于得以向东北约60度方向逃逸。

图六

第四种情形,如图七显示,第三体从偏离Y轴的(-0.1,0.75)位置,同样以初速(0,-0.3)出发,结果与上相似。只是这一次,它没能幸运逃逸,而是直接撞上了第二体。图中显示二粒子相撞的位置在屏幕的(318,120)点处。

图七

从月球上的无数陨石坑和地球上夜间常见到的流星,可知这种相撞情形并不罕见。

太阳系存在已有几十亿年,该撞的或能逃的天体大概多已被淘汰了,现在剩下的,可以说,是一个基本稳定的结构。但多体耦合导致的混沌法则依然存在,从大尺度来看,一切仍旧可能改变,包括月球每年正悄悄地远离地球约一英寸多,无数小行星和碎石块仍在太阳系里杂乱飞舞,随时威胁着地球上的生命存在。

以上只是些数字模拟,试图形象地给出有关三体混沌运动中的一些基本概念,以及可能发生的情形。

浩瀚的宇宙是和谐秩序与紊乱混沌的统一体,然而,无论如何,质量相近的三体天体极不稳定,应不适合生命起源和进化的漫长过程,遑论产生造就高级智慧生物。


[1], David Acheson, "From Calculus to Chaos", Oxford, (1997).

写于2024年4月28日。

To read English version please click: Jim Shao, “The three-body problem”

Or, goto http://www.azcolabs.com/xy_3BD_Eng.html


参考阅读:

小鹰:《文革中我参加过的“相对论批判”》 (2018年6月)

小鹰:《争论的价值──犹太文化的启示》 (2020年8月) (附照片)

小鹰:《熵与状态》 (2023年10月17日)

小鹰:《闭卷判分 名人归零》 (2019年4月)

小鹰:《兰顿氏蚁》 (2017年8月)


链接网站首页-阅读更多内容


(返回)